Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Diving in Kerama or Miyako 2013/12/10 16:06
Can anyone advise which of the two islands (Zamami or Aka Island) is better to be based on if I (single traveler) wants to do diving on Kerama Islands?

I just know a tiny bit of Japanese (but have been to Japan 5 times and I have survived), and I love izakayas or local cuisine restaurant. Understand some ryokan / guest house do provided breakfast and dinner but I would prefer to wander around the town a bit after my diving, join the locals and have some awamori/shochu.

I am just a beginner in terms of diving, so would like dive sites to be suitable for me (no/little current, no deep dives, no wreckage). Do not know how to appreciate macro yet, so I like to see big fishes (manta ray, barracuda, reef sharks would be nice. :)

So basically, I would prefer to base on somewhere which has more choices for dinner and nearer to dive sites suitable for me. And any reccomanded guest house (less than 6000Y, with breakfast (attached or shared toilet/bathroom), near to port/harbour. Would 3 nights (2 day of diving) be enough or is it too much?

I am considering going to Kerama during the last week of June or 1st week of Dec (understand both are not best time to go Okinawa/Kerama but it is not the worst, is it?). Is it ok to book accommodation first? Then when I reached the island, i can find dive shops to book diving for the next day. Is this doable since it is not the peak season? With my limited Japanese, I find it easier to book accommodation than dives, online.

Miyakojima or Onna