Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

kesennuma and sanriku coast 2014/1/13 03:30
I am a journalist and travel blogger. I would like to travel to the tsunami hit areas next week, but I am unsure. First of all, I am not sure about how will I be perceived, as a visitor. As a 'horror tourist' if I don't present myself as a journalist. Or wil I be met with suspicion as "just another journalist" that comes and takes a few pictures if I tell I am writing a story about it (I am not sure if I . I know that in areas that suffered so much the situation is always delicate.

Has anyone been there recently or know what the situations is and how visitors are perceived?

Do you know if there is any kind of accomodation in the area (I guess there is in Kesennuma) or will I have to go back to Sendai or Fukushima?

Also, I speak basic japanese (Jlpt4) but it's not enough I guess, do you know interpreters/fixers in the area?
by star78  

Re: kesennuma and sanriku coast 2014/1/13 08:12
by cc (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: kesennuma and sanriku coast 2014/1/13 08:14
First of all, I am not sure about how will I be perceived, as a visitor.

Most people won't care. Some people will be happy to see a foreign tourist. As long as you do not cause anybody any inconvenience by parking your car in a wrong places, etc., you won't cause any negative feelings.

As a 'horror tourist' if I don't present myself as a journalist. Or wil I be met with suspicion as "just another journalist" that comes and takes a few pictures if I tell I am writing a story about it (I am not sure if I .

If you just travel through, nobody will care about you. If you want to talk to people, you will get as many different responses as there are people. Some will be glad to share their stories. Others will never want to talk about it.