Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Letter to a Host family 2014/7/20 01:17
Hello all!

I'm writing a letter to a possible future Host Family (via WWOOFjapan). Even though they seem to be able to speak English rather well, I decided to write the letter both in English and Japanese as I've been learning the latter for about three years, you know, just to show that I can communicate in Japanese too.

Now, as I have never written this kind of message to anyone, there are some parts that I need help with. The English part is all good, so all these questions are about how to express X in Japanese.

1. Addressing the Host and their family? The only one that came to my mind is ホースト様. I do not know their name.

2. Talking about the Host's 'place'. As in 'I would be happy to work/help/stay at your business/house/place'. I don't know whether I should be talking about their home or their business.
To clarify, I'm going to stay at their home, and the work part is mostly helping at the farm, housework, making food etc. The whole experience is supposed to be more about the stay and being a part of the family, not so much about the working itself (or that's how I've been told) so talking about their business or company seems a bit awkward to me.

3. This one is difficult for me even in English!
In my first letter I am supposed to tell when does my travel take place and for how long does it last. So what I want to say is that I can stay up to three months somewhere between September 2014 and March 2015. My ideal time of travel would be from November 1st till January 20th but the date can be changed (as long as it's during Sept-Mar) if it's not fine for the Host for any reason. If there is any simple way to put this in Japanese, that would be great!

Any help is much appreciated. Thank you for reading!
by ojimak