Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Apartment Flooring in Japan 2014/9/15 14:40
Hi there!

I am currently looking for apartments in Osaka. It is my first time to rent in Japan and and I am torn between a unit on the 1st floor with a wooden flooring vs. a unit on the 3rd floor with a carpet flooring.

I would like to ask if you guys would recommend a foreigner to live on the 1st floor? My only hesitation with the 3rd floor is the carpet flooring which might trigger my allergies.

Thanks! :)
by Jay san (guest)  

Re: Apartment Flooring in Japan 2014/9/15 16:06
Whether a foreigner or a Japanese :) one might want to consider the following:

- Sunlight into the room? too shadowy on the ground floor?
- Heavy traffic on the road right in front of the building? (road noise)
- Open area in front, or rather hidden from view (precaution against theft)

Personally (I have no allergies at all, BTW) I would prefer the 3rd floor for the above reasons.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Apartment Flooring in Japan 2014/9/15 16:19
Theft easily on the first floor rooms.
Cool in summer, warm in winter on the first floor.
Noise from the neighbor is heavy on the first floor.
I prefer to rent a room on the third floor.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Apartment Flooring in Japan 2014/9/15 16:53
Thank you so much for your help.

I am really going for the unit on the 3rd floor only if not because of the carpet. I am quite hesitant with the idea of having to rent a 12 year old unit with a carpet flooring. Not really sure how well cleaning companies wash it after the previous tenant moves out or if they have even ever replaced it.

Anyhow, do you have any ideas on how I can tentatively "cover" the carpet while I am renting? Do you think putting a tatami mat or vinyl floors would work?