Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

School psychologists in international schools 2014/9/21 17:00
Hi all,

I'm doing a masters in psychology (educational developmental). The goal is to become a school psychologist. I was wondering if there are employment opportunities for school psychologists/guidance officers at international schools in Japan? And what sort of requirements they might have. For example in my home country, public schools require a teaching licence however catholic schools and some private schools accept registered psychologists without teaching licences.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks
by Jigasaki (guest)  

Re: School psychologists in international schools 2014/9/21 20:03
It's normally required a license approved by the Japanese Certification Board for Clinical Psychologists. You need a Master's degree in clinical psychology from a university where the program is offered. Research psychologists don't have this license(normally).
Japanese schools normally call "School Counselor" instead of "School Psychologist". I don't think a permanent position is offered in this position(Part-time work only offered).
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: School psychologists in international schools 2014/9/21 20:24
There are school psychologists at international schools in Japan - but it really depends on the school. For example, my last school (Yokohama International School) had 2 people working full time in learning support which had some background in your area.

There is a great demand for people in this area - but unfortunately they tend to want you to have previous home or international experience.