Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

One day in Tokyo - not use trains 2014/10/6 00:30
I will be on business visit to Tokyo in November and I will have one free day. I will be staying at a hotel in Marunochi area and would like to see a a bit of city without taking any trains. Grateful for any one recommendation.

I couldn't speak Japanese and I am keen on culture seeing local lifestyle and I am into a bit of shopping, not for luxury items
by One day visit tokyo (guest)  

Re: One day in Tokyo - not use trains 2014/10/6 09:34
I do not speak Japanese either, but really had no trouble using the subways as long as I studied the maps and knew what subway lines I wanted to travel on and what direction I needed to head. Just don't travel during rush hours!
If you still don't want to use the subways, I think you can walk to the Ginza from Marunouchi for shopping and sightseeing. Also, I think there are some big department stores in your area also. Just study the posts in this website to get more information.
Just try to enjoy your trip.
by 56Premiere rate this post as useful

Re: One day in Tokyo - not use trains 2014/10/6 09:40
If you are "keen on culture seeing local lifestyle", you will not get much of that just around Tokyo Station!!

I'd catch the JR Yamanote Line to Nippori, then out the western exit. Then you'll see more of the local culture & lifestyle.

by Sandy (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: One day in Tokyo - not use trains 2014/10/6 11:18
If you are "keen on culture seeing local lifestyle", you will not get much of that just around Tokyo Station!!

Really - why is that? Did everyone around Tokyo Station recently arrive from Mars or something?