Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can i work in different prefecture 2015/2/24 12:58
Hi i am a dependent visa holder address in Tokyo.
My questions:
1-Can i work in another prefecture (for eg-Okinawa)??. {Yes , i can legally work in japan for 28hrs /week (my visa status allows me)}
As i am a dependent holder to my father , can i work in another prefecture with my address of Tokyo?
My father is chef in restaurant in Tokyo hence , he is not leaving tokyo but me. Therefore can i work or not?
Someone pls enlighten me . I am so stressed over this matter. If i can work in chiba why not Okinawa?
Note; my dad isn't changing address so i wont be able to as well. But i wanna work in okinawa.. HELP
by Sunhabb  

Re: Can i work in different prefecture 2015/2/24 14:11
I am not a lawyer, so you might want to ask one, but this is as far as I know.

As the resident status of dependent is granted to you to allow you to be together with your father in Japan so that he can support you, if your intention is to be able to live independently from him, away from him, that sounds like you don't need to be supported by him so defies the purpose of your resident status. Chiba is within commuting distance from Tokyo, so that makes a difference. I do not know how Immigration will view the situation.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Can i work in different prefecture 2015/2/26 22:35
Yes, you can go work in Okinawa (i.e., you won't be doing anything illegal if you do). How long you can do it, however, depends on how immigration will view this. The activities permitted under "Dependent" status are defined thus:

"Daily activities on the part of a spouse or unmarried minor supported by the foreign national staying in Japan."