Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Getting a job in Japan as fresh graduate? 2015/3/2 23:24
I am currently studying for a bachelor's degree in a technical subject, I still have 1 year until I finish. My Japanese is currently intermediate, but by time I finish I will hopefully be at advanced level.

I am wondering what are my chances to get a non-teaching job in Japan as a foreigner? I mean by applying with Japanese graduates. Sadly, due to economic situation in my area, I am not likely to be able to get a graduate job at home to gain experience first.

Would getting a master's degree, either at home or in Japan, improve my chances a lot? It would be cheaper at home (EU) but I may be able to get a scholarship as I have very high grades. I'm just wondering if Japanese companies are even willing to hire a foreign fresh graduate (that requires visa sponsorship) or will I be automatically overlooked?
by Aya (guest)  

Re: Getting a job in Japan as fresh graduate? 2015/3/3 10:12
It depends on what your specialty is and what you can offer that a Japanese worker can't. You'll most likely have to focus your search on companies that require someone who can do your particuar skillset in your native language since it would be rare that a company would hire a foreign worker over a domestic one if they are equally qualified.
by Vita (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Getting a job in Japan as fresh graduate? 2015/3/4 16:54
Given the expense and trouble of hiring foreigners (i.e. the need to sponsor visas, etc), and the greater risk involved with hiring non-Japanese - Japanese employers know what they are getting from Japanese college graduates, but they don't know well about foreigners and foreign colleges - then it might be difficult unless you have very high level skills, and preferably experience.