Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Thumbs up and other gestures 2015/3/20 10:28
I'm a female teacher who sometimes puts my thumb up to indicate 'good work' out of habit. I read somewhere that this can be offensive in Japan but unsure what the gesture means to Japanese people. Can someone please tell me what the thumbs-up means in Japan? Also there are some gestures that mean completely different things in Japan than they do in the West (eg: brushing your hand towards someone in Japan means 'come here' whereas in the West it means 'go away'). Are there any gestures that Westerners make that confuse or offend Japanese people? Cheers!
by jennjett (guest)  

Re: Thumbs up and other gestures 2015/3/20 11:47
(eg: brushing your hand towards someone in Japan means 'come here' whereas in the West it means 'go away')

Fyi, these are not quite the same gesture as the direction of the brushing is important. The "come here" brushing is like sweeping the person toward you, whereas the "go away" brushing is the opposite. But of course to the untrained eye they are easy to confuse.
by yllwsmrf rate this post as useful

Re: Thumbs up and other gestures 2015/3/20 16:59
Thumbs up mean "Good" in JP but I don't female teachers do this gesture so often(sometimes male teachers do).
I don't think it's an offensive gesture but females don't do so much. I think it fairy acceptable if you are a foreigner. It looks a bit strange gesture for me if a Japanese female teacher do this gesture(it's still okay....).
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Thumbs up and other gestures 2015/3/20 18:58
gestures are used, when they don't want to speak the meaning directly.
if you speak nothing and only show gestures, it means you don't want to express your intention to other non-related persons.