Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Working holiday visa 2015/4/1 17:02
Hello guys ,

My name is Aaron , I am 24 years old and I am currently working at a hotel in Japan where I am almost coming up to my year contract , and visa end.

The company I am working for have agreed to sponsor me on a working visa , and have told me that when I arrived back to England , to send off all necessary documents etc and they will apply for the COE for me

Basically , I have no degree , but I have experience. I worked in a hotel for three years from the age of 15 , I then went to study travel and tourism at college for two years and then I studied hospitality for a year at college. I have certificates for both of these courses. Also , after this I had a job as a Travel agent for three years , before coming to Japan for one year to work in a the hotel that I am in.

Based on said experience , I was just wondering what people thought the chances were of me being granted a humanities visa to work in a hotel , without a degree.

Any responses are appreciated :)

Arigatou!
by aaron4reds  

Re: Working holiday visa 2015/4/2 08:10
Three years, three years, and one year, so your work experience adds up to seven years. And you have relevant college study, though unfortunately it is not a bachelor's degree (total of three years).

I would say you have a chance, but the guideline for work visa based solely on work experience is usually ten years, so you are not quite fulfilling that. Since the employer is willing to give it a try, I would say let them, and see what happens. Best wishes.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Working holiday visa 2015/4/2 08:49
Thank you for the reply AK :)

I seem to recall reading somewhere that study goes towards your amount of years experience as well as actually working.