Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Arm hair 2015/5/8 09:04
I'm a female English teacher in Japan with a little arm hair (no more than other Western women). Lately I've been wearing short sleeved shirts and several people have looked at my arms and then commented on my lack of long sleeves. Are they trying to drop a hint that I should shave/wax my arms like Japanese women do? Is it considered rude in Japan for women to wear short sleeves if they have hair on their arms?
by LoneWolf (guest)  

Re: Arm hair 2015/5/8 17:43
Just like (back some years ago) some young American girls would gasp at unshaven legs, "some" young Japanese girls/women would consider it their common sense to remove hair from their arms... just like some cannot leave home without any make-up, etc., but that's their choice, and it is not rude in Japan for women to wear short sleeves with hair on their arms.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Arm hair 2015/5/8 17:44
Was it strangers who dropped those comments? If so, then THEY were being rude :)

Re: Arm hair 2015/5/8 18:28
Lately? I'm not sure where you live, but it's too early to be wearing only short sleaves all day long every day. Surely the days have been hot here in Greater Tokyo, but I've had an elderly stranger speak to me at the store, worrying if I'm not too cold with my short sleaves.

Next time, try saying, "Hen desuka? (Is it strange?)" with a smile.
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Arm hair 2015/5/8 18:33
Oh, I didn't think of that possibility - I have been wearing short- sleeved shirt outside lately as well lol. Maybe that's what they were simply commenting on! :)

Re: Arm hair 2015/5/8 18:34