Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Travelling alone in Japan in August-September 2015/5/23 18:32
Hey guys, I'm currently an exchange student at a university here in Tokyo. My school semester ends the start of August, and I have roughly a month to travel anywhere I want in Japan until I have to leave and return back to my home country. Have any of you travelled across Japan by yourselves for a long period of time and do you have any tips/ cities you would like to share with me? Here are a couple questions concerns I have and I would greatly appreciate it if some of you could offer me your insight :D!

1) No Japan rail pass. since I'm currently on a student visa here, there's no way for me to purchase the Rail pass, so unfortunately I'll be paying for all the train rides out of pocket. Would it be wiser for me to pick a couple spots and stay in those cities for a longer period of time (say 5-7 days) rather than going to a bunch of different cities to save on transport? Do we have to buy shinkansen tickets in advance or will they always be available for purchase at the station?

2)route of travel. I'll be travelling from Tokyo to osaka first to see some family, then I was thinking of travelling down to Kyoto and along Japan (Hiroshima, Fukuoka etc) then finally flying back to tokyo around September to fly home. Would this be a good idea?

2)accomodation. I'm stumped as to how I should be planning my accommodation. Should I purchase all my accommodation in advance or would it be a bad idea to wing it as I go? I was thinking about finding a host family for each city on b2b, either that or capsule hotels/ hostels. Would $30 a night be a good estimate?