Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Can I become a Japanese citizen at 21? 2015/5/27 11:41
Hi, I am a half filipino half japanese. I was born and raised here in the Philippines. It is really a complicated situation. My mom (Filipina) and dad (Japanese) were married in Sept. 8, 1995. However, I am holding a Philippine passport. My father died in the year 1999. We haven't processed any papers about my citizenship and again, I am holding a Philippine passport ever since. When we go there, we were only granted with a tourist visa. Also, I just figured out that my dad was adopted so he doesn't have any siblings.
In year 2014, after I graduated in college, we went to the embassy but they told me that there's no chance for me to get a japanese citizen because I was already 20 y.o. that time. I am turning 22 this November though. I really want to study and work in Japan. It feels like the a big part of me is at loss now. I want to explore and discover the other half of me. I hope someone could help me out. Thank you so much!
by Erika Iwaki (guest)  

Re: Can I become a Japanese citizen at 21? 2015/5/27 14:00
Have you asked about getting a "Child of Japanese National" visa instead? It would also allow you to study and work in Japan without limits.
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Can I become a Japanese citizen at 21? 2015/5/27 16:58
You must be registered in your father's "Koseki" that you were born as his child. That tells you are qualified to be a Japanese citizen as you apply for the Japanese passport(ie Japanese citizenship).
Ask your mother about "Koseki". If it's exist, you are qualified as a Japanese citizen but you will lose your Phillipines citizenship.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Can I become a Japanese citizen at 21? 2015/5/27 17:14