Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Decision to stay in Japan 2015/7/1 17:33
Hi. I was hoping maybe someone could help me out with my dilemma. So ever since I came to Japan as a foreign exchange student, I haven't been sure whether or not I should stay the full year. Here are the reasons why I'm unsure.

To start, my relationship with my host mother has been rocky. We have different opinions, and I respect that we both come from different cultures, but there are times when I think that she, in general is a mean person. I'm not sure if she comes off as strict or not since my own mother really isn't strict, but I personally think that my host mother can be rude and awful to deal with. Just about a month ago I told my liaison ( person who guides and supports you during trip) that I either wanted to switch host families or go back home. In the end, I decided to give it another try with my first host family. Things started becoming good, but recently my host mother is now being mean again. I want to make it up to her but I think that this mean attitude of hers has gone on for way too long.

The second thing is my liaison. At times I feel like I can't talk to her because I feel that she doesn't support me. I understand that English is not her first language and I guess language really isn't the issue. I just feel like I can't come to her for problems because all she'll tell me is Good Luck!, which doesn't help at all.