Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Taking pre-packaged food into Japan 2015/9/26 21:55
My son will be visiting Japan for 12 days and has a severe allergy to sesame. So that he has some food to fall back on that he was 100% sure was safe for him to eat (if he was uncertain about food in restaurants etc) we were going to send him with some instant noodle type foods (add water), and also some snack pots that you heat in the microwave. I'm guessing the ones with just tomato/cheese sauce will be ok through customs, but some of these have either beef powder, beef or pork as ingredients. Does anyone know whether they would be ok through customs?
by Newbie (guest)  

Re: Taking pre-packaged food into Japan 2015/9/28 20:16
The best of my knowledge anything which isn't "fresh" should be fine, but I'm not an expert.
by Tim (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Taking pre-packaged food into Japan 2015/9/30 11:55
I don't know what country your son is from, but my experience (and I have travelled into and out of Japan many many times, as well as live there) has been the Japanese customs and agriculture are nowhere near as fussy as New Zealand or Australia, who are incredibly strict on food especially meat. There is a sign near the luggage conveyor belt in the arrivals lounge at Narita saying no meat products, but I have never had my bags opened and inspected.