Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hokkaido 9 Days - can't decide where to visit 2015/10/7 02:52
Hi
I'm very excited as this is my first time travelling to Hokkaido. I'll be arriving Shin Chitose Airport on 13 Nov & staying for 9 days. I've read up a few & can't really decide where to visit & where I should start.

Am I being greedy, trying to visit all these places in as little budget as possible?
- I want to see Marimo & Ainu culture
- I'm hoping to see snow, maybe I'm too early & I missed the koyo season too
-I'm want to visit Otaru, Hakodate, Niseko, Toya

Also how is the weather like? Do I need to bring really thick winter clothing? I'm from a tropical country, so never experience winter before.

Hope to get advises from all the experience people here.
by claraseiya  

Re: Hokkaido 9 Days - can't decide where to visit 2015/10/7 16:48

Hi

Hi there.

I'm very excited as this is my first time travelling to Hokkaido. I'll be arriving Shin Chitose Airport on 13 Nov & staying for 9 days. I've read up a few & can't really decide where to visit & where I should start.
Nice.

You should start or end from Sapporo as it is the near and the largest city in Hokkaido.

Am I being greedy, trying to visit all these places in as little budget as possible?
- I want to see Marimo & Ainu culture
- I'm hoping to see snow, maybe I'm too early & I missed the koyo season too
-I'm want to visit Otaru, Hakodate, Niseko, Toya

With 9 days, you can do all of these.
there are ainu heritage open air museums (villages) that takes about 2 hours to view. Mainly because of the songs, dance, and explanations.

You can snow in the mountainous regions of Central hokkaido, though skiing is probably impossible.

Otaru is easily accessible from Sapporo and half a day is a good amount of time to spend here.