Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Money needed for 3 week trip in Japan 2015/10/7 04:19
I'm going to be staying in Japan for 3 weeks to visit my girlfriend, it's my first time to Japan, so I'm somewhat unsure about how much money I need. The only thing I've paid for so far is the flight, so that can be excluded. I'm staying from 14th December 2015 to 5th January 2016

I'll be staying in Kobe which is the city she lives in, but we will be visiting places like Osaka, Nara, Shiga and maybe Tokyo for one or two days. So I'm pretty sure a JR pass is a necessity? Not sure about any other passes there is I can buy.

I'll need to pay for things like entrance fees to places like Universal Studios Japan, Shrines, heritage/history sights etc. And I'll need to find a cheap hostel/hotel in Kobe, it doesn't need to be fancy as I just need a place to sleep really. (Anyone know of any good ones in Kobe?) Her house unfortunately has no space at all...

I don't expect to spend a lot of money on food, especially expensive food, I don't drink either. I'll be studying there next year so I won't be buying a multitude of souvenirs. Just a few.

I'm a student at the moment, but I do have some personal savings saved up, but I want to try to spend as little as possible.

I'm from the UK btw.

Thanks for any suggestions!
by Jayvan (guest)  

Re: Money needed for 3 week trip in Japan 2015/10/7 16:36
i will budget 2500 usd.

this would cover transportation, lodging, and food. Any money you saved can be spent on souvenirs.
by jh (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Money needed for 3 week trip in Japan 2015/10/7 16:39
Hi,