Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/1/26 18:52
I am a Chinese student from Chengdu,Sichuan. And I want to go to Japan for travelling after I graduate from Senior HIgh.But I can't speak Japanese! I just want to travel in Japan alone.
by TCMario  

Re: Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/1/26 22:07
It's really up to you. Some people feel intimidated about traveling to a country where they don't speak the language of. On the other hand, I prefer to chose to travel to countries that I don't speak the language of.

I'm Japanese and when I traveled to China, I was able to communicate a lot through kanji, drawings and gesture. I hope you have fun in Japan too!
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/1/27 03:50
But I can't speak Japanese! I just want to travel in Japan alone.

Not a problem. I would be more concerned about becoming familiar with the etiquette rules and manners specific to Japan.
by Faiyez rate this post as useful

Re: Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/1/27 07:37
It's not a problem. There's a lot of English around, and in several areas (usually in major cities), some Korean and Chinese too (e.g. on the Kyoto tourist buses). I only learnt a few basic phrases and I was fine travelling for a month, but I didn't stray too far off the beaten path.
by sq (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/1/31 12:14
Hi Again! Thank u for the above answers. These days I am busy with my study,and I am sorry for my delays in replying to u. According to ur answers I see that I can lead a good holiday trip in Japan. Thank u sincerely!
by TCMario rate this post as useful

Re: Is language a obstacle in communicating? 2016/2/1 21:55