Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

starting your own buisness in japan 2016/2/3 19:37
I'm currently thinking aout moving to japan (actually been thinking of it for a while now)

I'm a self employed artist and generally work online... basically people email me photos which I use to draw portraits which I then mail back to them.

acording to what I've read about the buisness manager visa it requires one to have a seperate office space from which to run the buisness as a home office isn't always considered acceptable. as well as this it states that I would have to employ at least one japanese national.

this is where things become tricky as my buisness only requires desk space for a computer and where I can draw as well as an internet connection and is essentially a one man operation (I currently run the whole thing from a laptop next to my bed where I sit and draw) so how essential are the above requirements?

my back up plan should it be essential to hire a space and employ someone would be to open a small workshop where I can do things like wood carving and clay work, or add a studio for taking photos from which to work. in which case I could probably hire someone at least part time.

granted this is all largely a basic plan as I don't plan to move for at least a couple of years (I plan to save up enough money to cover my cost of living/rent, emergencies ect) and I'm still researching many areas
by crwydryny  

Re: starting your own buisness in japan 2016/2/4 10:13
Hi,

For being self-employed, I can tell you it is not necessary to hire any Japanese National. However, having a Japanese person help you, will be indispensable (unless you are fluent in Japanese) - for instance for accounting purposes. There is now a simplified solution for gaijin to create their own business.