Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japanese Tax on US Capital Gains from Stock 2016/11/4 13:17
I'm a permanent resident of Japan. On my Japanese tax return for this year, I will have to report capital gains from the sale of some US stock. All I can find online is information saying that capital gains from the sale of overseas stock is reported "separately from ordinary income" in Japan and is also subject to "separate taxation". Fair enough. I called the National Tax Agency information hotline for advice, but they were of no help.
Does anyone know about this (eg: Which Japanese tax form(s) to use? What the tax rate is for capital gains on overseas stock? etc.)
Later, I'll probably end up going to a Japanese tax professional for help, but in the meantime I want to try to understand what I'm up against, and also try to learn the related vocabulary in Japanese.
by Buzzcut (guest)  

Re: Japanese Tax on US Capital Gains from Stock 2016/11/4 15:50
as same as domestic stock selling.
national tax : 15%申告分離課税
residential tax : 5 %
分離課税 : the tax will be calculated separately from your salary.
you may choose 総合課税 (combine your salary and capital gain). in mot cases, 分離課税 is better (cheaper tax).
calculation of capital gain : exchange at TTB on the selling date.
you can claim 外国税額控除, if US withdraws some tax when selling.
the system is complicated.
follow the advise by an accountant.
you can use the ordinary form. just fill the columns as same as domestic stock selling. (I believe)
by ken (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Japanese Tax on US Capital Gains from Stock 2016/11/5 06:47
Yes, that is exactly what I want to find out about... the so-called "separate taxation" (分離課税) of overseas capital gains.

Thanks, Ken!