Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Usage of anata and aishiteru 2016/12/23 06:15
I'm in a long distance relationship with a Japanese guy, and we text every day. But to my surprise, he uses "anata" a lot when addressing me in his messages. I'm studying Japanese and I thought that it is not common to use "anata" in casual conversation, and sometimes even rude. I try to address him by first name but now that he uses "anata," I've started using it too.

He's also said "I love you" to me in English many times but once he said "anata o aishite imasu," using "aishiteru" another Japanese word that I thought was rarely used. I asked him about it, saying that I thought "aishiteru" wasn't used very often. He was very surprised and said that people often use it with people they like. So now I am confused about when it is acceptable to use "anata" and "aishiteru" because I've heard many different things.
by Purple (guest)  

Re: Usage of anata and aishiteru 2016/12/24 06:06
I'm not a Japanese, but in a relationship with a Japanese girl.

From my understanding it's unusual to say "anata" to someone in a casual way. You can see in Japanese drama that couples use it to adress each other so I wouldn't say it's wrong how you are using it right now.

I don't adress my Girlfriend with "anata" when I speak japanese, I did it one time and it made her chuckle a bit, older age couple use it much more than younger one she told me.

Now about "Aishiteru", I'm 100% that people who just like someone would never use "Aishiteru" to describe this person, would be more appropriate "suki".

When you translate Suki and Aishiteru both mean "I love", but this is pretty much wrong about emotions.

You can say "Aishiteru" when you truly and deaply love someone.
You can say "Suki" when you like someone or something.