Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Hiroshima vs 1 extra day in Kyoto area 2017/2/1 05:12
It's my first time in Japan and I'm not sure how to prioritise what to see, classic problem I guess. I've only got 4 days to do both Kyoto and potentially Hiroshima.

I understand the Peace Memorial Museum is under renovation. The Main building is supposed to be closed in May when I'll be in Japan.

Is the Main building the main attraction at the museum?
Is it worth going to Hiroshima vs doing Kyoto at a more relaxed pace, maybe spend a day at a nice ryokan with an onsen?
by emilc  

Re: Hiroshima vs 1 extra day in Kyoto area 2017/2/1 10:16
To me, the highlight of Hiroshima was Miyajima; not so much the Peace Park (which I did visit). Only you know what your priorities are, so I won't suggest to skip the Peace Park.

It is possible to visit both Miyajima and Peace Park in one day, if must.

For the first time visit, I would recommend to see as many different places as the time/budget allows.
by Mei (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Hiroshima vs 1 extra day in Kyoto area 2017/2/1 21:53
I would leave Hiroshima for next time & enjoy the more relaxed time in Kyoto. For a first visit there is far more there than you could possibly see in the time you are there. Or you could spend the day going to Fushimi Inari & Nara which is only a short rail journey away.
by Stan Norrell rate this post as useful

Re: Hiroshima vs 1 extra day in Kyoto area 2017/2/2 08:39
To me, the visit to Hiroshima was one of the highlights of my first trip to Japan. The Dome is breathtaking both on the day and night, and the Peace Park as a whole was (and still is) the most humbling experience in my trip. I spent two nights there and also visit Miyajima Island. Highly recommended.
by saijaR (guest) rate this post as useful