Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Non-native biliningual English teacher 2017/5/4 07:23
I am a non-native English teacher from the EU and would like to spend a year or two teaching in Japan. I am fully bilingual - I started speaking English before I was four years old so there is virtually no difference between my proficiency and that of a native speaker (I speak with a British accent). However, I understand that since my passport is not from an English-speaking country I will be in an unfavourable position when it comes to finding work. Is a TEFL certificate even worth pursuing? They forewarn applicants that their non-English status is a liability. My situation is unique and I would like to hear about experiences of those who managed to find work despite being non-native speakers.
by Cassie (guest)  

Re: Non-native biliningual English teacher 2017/5/4 10:22
There are four French and two German working as ALT as at July 2016.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Non-native biliningual English teacher 2017/5/5 01:42
I, too, know some non native ALT, including me from Asia (lol).
TEFL/TESOL/CELTA may help you, not dispensable though.
http://ishijls.blog.fc2.com/blog-entry-561.html
by gaijin sensei (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Non-native biliningual English teacher 2017/5/5 07:13
You situation isn't unique and comes up all the time. I have read multiple times from others in your same situation that yes your non-English background does look unfavourable at first glance. But once they confirm your English is on par is regular English bachground teachers, you'd be fine.
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Non-native biliningual English teacher 2017/5/7 00:22
I agree your situation isn't unique, I know a number of French teachers who are employed as English teachers.