Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Some questions about traveling with Rail Pass 2017/7/10 03:48
Hey all. I'm visiting Japan in the winter for a few days and just had a couple questions about traveling. While I'm no newbie to public transportation, I am finding looking up details about japanese public trans very confusing...

Basically, what I have gathered is that buying a JR 7-day pass is ideal. I'll be there for around 7 days, flying in to Tokyo (Havent book flights..so don't know airport yet. But around Tokyo). From there, I want to take a 2-day trip to Kyoto for sure, then return back to Tokyo. That trip alone, from what I gathered, basically is the same price as the 7-day pass. So I am definitely getting it.

My question is, will the JR Pass also cover my other travel? I want to visit the Zao fox village for sure. From what I gather, you must take a bullet train there and then a taxi. Will the JR Pass cover the train ride?

Does it also cover transportation within Tokyo, such as the underground? If not, is there a more cost effective thing to purchase to get around? (Sort of like NYC's unlimited metro card) or is it the same price as taking taxis if you divide it between two people? (Like, in LA, it's often cheaper to take uber than the bus if you have more than 1 person).

I would greatly appreciate the advice! Most things I've found are very outdated, and the language barrier sort of makes it harder. I'm trying to learn as much japanese as possible before the trip, but as of right now my knowledge is very basic (Which also scares me - traveling to more rural parts of Japan. Will I be able to get around?)

I'll probably be asking a few other questions on here..so bare with me!
by jordynm  

Re: Some questions about traveling with Rail Pass 2017/7/10 15:04