Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Cooking Class in Kyoto 2017/9/19 19:27
Hello Everyone,

I'm looking to join a good cooking class in Kyoto during my upcoming visit. It's my first time there, so I'm a bit overwhelmed and confused with its map and the bus and train routes. I have done a google search and came up with about 5 places that offer cooking classes.

Not sure which one to choose, and whether it is worth combining it with Nishiki Market tour or just stick to the cooking class. I know that each class has its own uniqueness, but I'm after an authentic hands on experience not just a demonstration in a place which is easily accessible by public transport.

Any recommendations or advice?

Thank you in advance
by Maria (guest)  

Re: Cooking Class in Kyoto 2017/9/23 11:18
I'm wondering is someone can help me with this. Any advice is much appreciated.
Thank you
by Maria (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Cooking Class in Kyoto 2017/9/23 11:46
Hi Maria,

Are you fluent in Japanese? Many many many years ago I made soba noodles in Fukui, but I was with a friend who was fluent who translated instructions for me. I don't know of any classes with instructions in English.
by rkold rate this post as useful

Re: Cooking Class in Kyoto 2017/9/23 12:21
Thanks rkold.

No, I'm not fluent in Japanese, but on Google there were lots of cooking classes stated to be given in English through providers like Cooking Sun, Haru Cooking Class, Kyoto Daidocoro, and other individuals who provide them at their homes.