Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 3: Posts 1 - 20 of 44

1 2 3
next

Horses In Japan..? 2006/8/15 13:50
This may seem like a silly question.. But are there any horses in Japan? While I was in Japan I did not see even one. But then I wasnt really in an area that would have large animals..but still, all of the traveling we did, i didnt see ANY.

i have been breeding and training horses for the past eight years now, and back when I was younger, hoped for a career dealing with Equines. I sort of gave up that idea long ago..but then I started wondering, Is there a need for horse trainers in Japan? Are the horses in Japan mainly used for racing(I did see racetracks).

Just very curious about this! Thanks!
by Arika  

horses 2006/8/15 23:30
Yes there are horses in Japan, and not just racce horses either. Theres yabusmae or horseback archery, there are places that offer trail rides, and Ive even been lucky enough to see the Imperial carriage dispatched to Tokyo station to pick up a new diplomat and take him to meet the Emperor. Those were some fine horses I must say.
by lin rate this post as useful

I'd stay away from riding here 2006/8/16 00:38
There are riding stables and places, but probably not like what you're used to. I was a pretty serious rider back home, and came here to teach English. I was told before I left America that there was a riding school close by in Osaka that I could ride at, so I was excited.

I went and found
- no turnout, period
- a huge emphasis on cute clothes and the English riding 'look' and a lack of emphasis on good riding (for example, I watched a jumping class where nobody did two-point- everyone just stood in their stirrups and slammed down as they landed)