Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japanese Street Crepes 2007/2/6 13:56
Hi all,

I have just returned from Japan and I am in love with their crepes!!! I have already bought a crepe machine (I know I am not good with pans and I try to recreate the ambiance as much as I can also).
The problem isc I have tried quite a few recipes (about 10 or more, I think), some of them authentic French, but they don't even get close to the crepes I had in Tokyo. Mine are a bit oily (although I used very little oil) and kind of soggy (not very), not to mention a bit translucent... and I assume most of you know what the ones in Tokyo look like.

Now... is there anybody out there who can give me a good recipe? Maybe you know somebody who works at a crepe stand or something similar... I am losing hope and my mind here :-)

...Please help!
...Thanks a million!
...Steph
by lsb  

.. 2007/2/8 07:06
Have you tried this?

Ingredients:

150ml milk
1 egg
50g self rising flour
2 tea spoon sugar
10g butter
A little salt

Method:

Mix flour, sugar& salt in a bowl and add egg. Beat them with whisk.
Add milk(not cold) & melted butter and sieve them
Cover the bowl with a moist towel for 30 minutes.
by tokyonet rate this post as useful

. 2007/2/8 13:02
Sorry for being ignorant but what is Japanese street crepe? Is self-rising flour availble in Japan?
by . rate this post as useful

Japanese Crepes 2007/5/3 13:58
I know a place in Montreal who sell such crepes???? Where are you presently?
Ohh!!! they are awesome... called rolopan.. ummm yum yum... just the way you described...
by Jay rate this post as useful

Yum 2007/5/4 08:07
Hey I love crepes, I didnt know there were any being sold on streets in japan!!
Awesome
What makes them japanese compaired to french ones?
I'm very interested now :)
by Kevin rate this post as useful