Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

How long can you survive on 230000 Yen? 2007/9/25 05:19
The aim of my question is to find out whether the following idea is feasible: I've been working in England for several months and will be working until October, and by then I will hopefully have over a thousand pounds, roughly 230000 yen. I have a job working in a hotel in a ski resort for four months starting December 1st, but I would like to come in November, so I could see some areas of Japan before my ski season. My current plan would be to spend a week in Tokyo, two weeks in Kyoto, and then head up to Hakuba, where my job will be- the hotel is providing food and accomodation, plus 50000 yen a month. After the job ends, I want to go on and see some more of Japan for about a month, doing some tourism, and going on a few hikes. Realistically, will the amount I will have suffice for what I am planning on doing? My parents are considering providing a bit extra, but approx 230000 yen would be the mainstay of my funds.

Thanks very much, and apologies for such a long and rambling question.
by Rob-imashita  

. 2007/9/25 10:06
It certainly is a lot of money, and honestly only you can answer that question. It depends on your travel habits. Upscale hotels, business hotels or hostels. Fast trains, slow trains or buses. High food spender, low food spender etc.

You can certainly go comfortable with that amount of money without the need to sacrifice on much.
by John rate this post as useful

Japan travel 2007/9/25 14:08
For people staying in budget accom. the usual guideline is about 8,000 to 10,000 yen per day (depending on how much long distance travel you will be doing (shinkansen costs etc add up quickly).