Schools
-
Member Area

Home - Question Forum
Sapporo jobs

ask a new question  -  post a reaction

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question,
please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Sapporo jobs 2008/12/23 14:44
Sapporo
Recently just got back after an amazing three months in japan, mainly wwoofing which is heartily reccomended.
Basically i would like to know what kind of jobs are on offer there?
I've been teaching kids in an outdoor environment for 5 years in england and USA, my degree is not a bsc or ba so jet or aeon programs may not accept me. Plus there is no leway for me. I either teach in sapporo or i dont teach at all (i have my reasons).
Plus i dont agree with the jet/aeon prices, they say you must pay the first 55,000 yen a month on your tiny apartment but in sapporo you can get a better 2 level flat for 40,000.
I can volunteer on a nearby farm while i am searching for a job but maybe need to think of alternative jobs.
Oh, i'll be going back in september 2009.
Thanks for the help.
by MattXIII  

... 2008/12/23 17:17
Do you have a bachelor's degree (this is an Immigration requirement for a full work-permitting visa, not the employer's)? And/or when you say you have been teaching, you've been teaching the English language? Since you say in the US and England, the subject would not have been the language?

If you qualify for work visa in terms of either a bachelor's degree or several years of English language teaching experience, and if Sapporo is what you need, you can try applying for any of the English language/conversation schools that have vacancies advertised for that area....

I think that's about the only thing you could try, without knowing your other skills or nationality (whether you qualify for a working holiday visa).

For teaching positions, has anyone already referred you to Gaijinpot or Dave's ESL Cafe for information?