Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Transferring to a Japanese university 2008/12/28 16:50
Hey everyone,

I am currently a freshman in an American university and have just finished my first term. I have come to the realization that transferring to a Japanese university would better not only my language ability, but deeper my understanding of the nation I wish to become part of one day, scholastically and culturally.
I was browsing around some websites of prominent universities in Tokyo, such as Keio and Waseda. While they seem very welcoming to foreign four-year undergraduate students, there is a lack of information about transfer students. I know it is a very common practice domestically in America, but I wonder if it is different in Japan.
If anyone has any knowledge or experience in transferring to a Japanese university (assuming that I will finish my year in the US and transfer fall 2009 when I am a 2nd year), I would greatly appreciate your insight.

Thanks
by phm123  

I've never heard 2008/12/29 08:50
I've personally (being a recent university graduate myself) never heard of anything transferring to a university in Japan whether it be a domestic transfer or international. People who want to change universities usually have to re-do all the admittance requirements and take all exams all over again. If you're willing to do that and start from scratch again (in essence become a "Rouninsei") sure, more power to you. To me though, sounds like a completely waste of time and effort. If you want to do university in Japan that much, why not just complete your undergrad studies and apply there as a grad student? Are you one of them folks who hates their current university/location so much that you can't wait three years to leave??