Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Tokyo-Hakone-Kyoto-Nikko-Tokyo 2010/10/7 00:57
Hi, this is my first time to Japan for a 12 day visit. My tentative itinerary is:

Tokyo - 4 days
Hakone - 3 days
Kyoto - 3 days
Nikko - 2 days
Tokyo

Please advise the following:
a) Am thinking of buying the 7 day Japan Rail Pass for travel from Tokyo-Hakone-Kyoto-Nikko. Please confirm that it makes sense to do so.

b) Please advise on how I can get from Kyoto to Nikko via Japan Rail Pass. How long will it take?

c) Nov 23 is a national holiday in Japan. Will it be difficult to book accommodation across Japan? Do we need to pay a premium for booking accommodation during the national holiday?

d) Do you have recommendations for Minshuku in Kyoto?

Thanks in advance.
by first-time-to-Japan (guest)  

Bouncey bouncey. 2010/10/7 23:38
a: Yes, it makes sense. The cost of return Shinkansen between Tokyo and Kyoto alone makes the JR Pass worthwhile. Adding extra stops just makes it even more value for money!

b: Kyoto to Nikko involves bouncing through Tokyo. Get the Shinkansen from Kyoto and hop off at Shinjuku, then swap to the Shinjuku-Nikko Limited Express. Probably about 5 hours' travel in total, as you can't get the fastest Shinkansen from Kyoto to Tokyo with your JR Pass.

c: The Japanese tend not to charge you extra for hotels just because it's a national holiday - they don't operate quite like Western ones in that regard. However, you can expect rooms to be limited, so book as early as possible to avoid disappointment.

d: I can't help with this one, as I usually use hotels. However, you can try http://www.japaneseguesthouses.com/db/kyoto/index.htm who will also enable booking in English for you.

by Troo (guest) rate this post as useful

Minshuku 2010/10/7 23:41