Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Finding a missing person 2011/11/13 21:56
I am wondering about the missing person procedure in Japan.
The (Japanese) brother of a good friend has gone missing after an argument with household members. He left in a car without his wallet a week ago and hasn't been seen since.
His wife has been to the police and they say they can't try to locate his phone without a court order. "Privacy" - people have the right to disappear.... He didn't have his wallet so unless he had a secret account, he hasn't had access to money.

Is it true that court orders are required? It seems an overly relaxed attitude to someone missing very uncharacteristically...

Would really appreciate information about procedures.
by missing (guest)  

Re: Finding a missing person 2011/11/14 18:25
Missing,

I'm no lawyer or police expert, but unless there are suspicious circumstances surrounding the disappearance - such as blood stains or a suicide note - I can't imagine the police being at all interested. I suppose his family could hire a private detective to try and track him down if they are concerned about his well-being.
by Dave in Saitama (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Finding a missing person 2011/11/14 18:58
Missing,

I have to say that sounds reasonable for someone who is old enough to marry, has had an argument, has left in an automobile with a roof and has not been answering calls.

He would have dozens of ways to survive for a week and he has every right to maintain his privacy. He can count on other people or he can work.

The wife can try to file that court order. She can also get free advise from city halls and such.