Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Do I need to know the language? 2012/8/29 22:22
I would like to visit Japan in the future, but I'm not very good at learning new languages. I did Japanaese in school for 4 years, and still only remember small phrases, some lettering and numbers.. not enough to communicate well in my opionion.
I understand that it would be preferable to know some of the language, but again.. I have a hard time learning/remembering anything new. (As much as I'd love to know more languages.. it just doesnt work for me) =(

I'm worried about how to ask for things like food, accomodation and getting travel tickets ect. Do most shops/tickets offices and accomodation places know a bit of english? or should I have a language book? I didnt want to have to get a translator, just do my own thing.. and hopefully with out too much hassle! =P
I really have no idea what to expect! So just wanted some opionion/advise is all. Thanks in advance!
~V.
by V. (guest)  

Re: Do I need to know the language? 2012/8/30 08:24
Do you need to know the language? No.
Would you be better off if you learned a little? Yes.

A little refresher would be nice, though not totally necessary. Many people have gone to Japan without any knowledge of the language and have had a great time. If you just learn the very basics, you'll do fine. Take a small phrasebook or a few apps if you have a smartphone.

If you need to ask for directions and don't know much Japanese, the best thing you can do is approach someone and begin with "Chotto Sumimasen" followed by the placename of where you want to go. Most people will respond to you and I firmly believe they want to help.