Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

14 day, 13 nights itinerary 2013/1/24 18:11
Hi forum,

I'm planning a 14 days trip to Japan. However this is my first time visiting the place, and I'll be doing it alone, I'm not sure where are the nice spots to visit.

I'm planning to go Tokyo, Osaka, Kyoto, probably doing a daytrip to Hiroshima. I also intend to do a temple stay at Koya and be heading to Minikami for traditional ryokan experience.

Might I ask for suggestions for places to visit? Thank you!
by Ben (guest)  

Re: 14 day, 13 nights itinerary 2013/1/24 18:44
This is a bit expensive, but, the Saihoji-temple in Kyoto. 3000 yen per person.

You have to write a request for admission by mail (a letter). You'll have to join in on one of the monk's their religious activities.

http://www.japan-guide.com/e/e3937.html
by Carlove (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: 14 day, 13 nights itinerary 2013/1/24 18:51
Also, if you're going to Kyoto in July, be sure to visit the Gion Matsuri!
by Carlove rate this post as useful

Re: 14 day, 13 nights itinerary 2013/1/24 19:11
First of all, good on you for going on your own! I did that a few years back; a 16 day solo trip and I had the best time even though I spoke no Japanese at the time.

So, all the places you said are perfect to visit. Are you getting a rail pass? If you are, I would highly suggest a trip out to Takayama. It's a long train ride, but it is worth it, and I know the best little temple that allows visitors to stay for a donation (2000-3000 yen a night, depending on your room).