Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 3: Posts 1 - 20 of 53

1 2 3
next

Making friends/dating/ culture shock? 2005/10/16 21:45
hey all. i'm a 24 y/o blues guitarist-type male from Los Angeles attending Waseda Daigaku (for a 1-year stint and then a masters program).

I have some culture shock questions! Please help if you can, cos i'm lonely, scared, and shocked (haha)

1.) What was the most surprising/ hardest thing that you had to come to terms with in terms of culture shock? (Custom / tradition / expectation)

2.) How and where did you make friends, or find people to date?!?! I have found that you cannot make friends with people in public, only circles and connections! Can you NEVER get to know someone based on their clothes/looks/ taste in music (being at the same club) which usually causes attraction in friends/dates in Los Angeles culture!

So limiting it seems :(

My question comes because i have become very depressed here in Tokyo. I expected TOO much wrong stuff man! Just to come here, study, play in a blues band, make musician friends, etc.

BUT!

People don't smile back on trains if you smile, and I NEVER knew of this! I'm a very friendly person, and i accept of course I accept that it's a cultural norm of Tokyo (and britain for that matter), and I wanna fit in, but i miss it.

2.)How do you make friends? I have found that you must be in a circle to make friends or date! I'm young, i wanna make friends and date people man. Wow, so surprsing. It's hard cos you CANNOT comment on someone's clothes/music taste if you see them in public.

I am a 4th year Japanese student, and i feel just lost cos my ideas were not from foreigners who lived here but Japanese Ryuugaksei in the States and ex-g/f (both from Tokyo) who probably thought it wasn't worth mentioning cos it was so normal!