Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 1 of 2: Posts 1 - 20 of 31

1 2
next

Locating lost relatives (resources?) 2004/5/25 13:36
Hello. I am a US resident. My grandmother is 100% Japanese. She moved to the US in 1955 after meeting my American grandfather after world war 2. she has lost touch with her family over the years, and doesn’t really feel the need to try to contact them, but, I hate living my life knowing that I have family in Japan; Uncles, Aunts, Cousins, and so forth that I cannot contact. I would really like to meet some of these people, but the ancestry resources in the US are mainly modeled for people who’s ancestors were born here, or in Europe, and certain other countries surrounding.

Can ANYONE help me find online resources to aid me in my search? (they must be in English, as I don’t speak Japanese unfortunately.)

I think a phone book MAY help, however, I don’t know which cities or towns any of my relatives live in. I’m sure that since 1955 they have all moved around quite a bit.

Thank you everyone in advance for their help.

Mitchell
by Luis Berry  

Get your grandmother to talk 2004/5/25 23:42
Actually, searching people by phone books are really difficult in Japan. On the other hand, it's quite easy to track all your family if you know where you can find your "koseki".

"Koseki" is an official document that every Japanese citizen has, and it tells you about your birth date, birth address, parents' names etc. People usually have it registered to the birth place.

Get your grandmother to tell you where her koseki is registered to, as well as her official Japanese name in Japanese writing. Then you could contact the municipal in Japan and have them check.