Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Page 2 of 3: Posts 21 - 40 of 43
prev
1 2 3
next

Re: Why Japanese never say no? 2014/1/3 14:22
Oh and "Meet you again?" isn't something I'd say. If I was speaking English to a non-native speaker I would use different speech and I also enunciate and speak considerably slower. I would say, "Would you like to meet again?" or "Shall we meet again?" I do this because I understand what it's like to be on the receiving end of this with both Spanish and Japanese.

Same goes for Japanese. One thing I've always been complimented on was the fact that I always speak it clearly and slowly unless I stumble over my words in uncertainty. I know Japanese isn't my first language and still relearning most of it (I studied it years ago) which is why I speak that way...and that I grew up with a southern upbringing back home. We speak slowly anyway compared to other areas. lol

Anyway, you do bing up very good points. That could be it. Misunderstandings. Unclear speech.
by SSJ Jup81 rate this post as useful

Re: Why Japanese never say no? 2014/1/3 15:34
Frankly I don't understand what's the hoo-haa over why Japanese never say no. Never is not an appropriate word, it comes off too strong. Never is like forever, 100% of the population, etc. Of course it has to do with the culture and society.

We should try looking at the big picture - human race. Ask yourself - Do like to reject people upfront? Maybe you think saying NO if you want to reject someone is frank, honest, saves time, whatever. But still, I think it spells lack of EQ. We are not little children, saying no as and when we feel like it. We might end up hurting other people's feelings. If we know we will still end up hurting someone, the least we can do is soften the impact?