Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Foreigner Magazine Model? 2024/5/4 05:22
Hi! I was wondering if modeling for a magazine whilst you come from out of Japan would be legal and possible through one of those model auditions magazines hold? Specifically a magazine such as EGG, (which I have no idea if they hire models outside of those through agents which would also be great to know).

I am a High School student and I've always wanted to model, and I've seen people as young as me win those model auditions but I've never seen a foreigner. Through research I havent seen anything strictly prohibiting out of country auditions.

Would getting in by one of these be possible? Would it cover a work visa or would the child labor law not allow (or would these companies just not want a foreigner to work for them)? Thank you!!
by t (guest)  

Re: Foreigner Magazine Model? 2024/5/4 17:38
Are you visiting Japan, or do you live in Japan already on some other kind of resident status?

As far as I know, if you get paid to model, youfd need to have a proper work-permitting visa/resident status. (And modeling for glamour magazines is not a full-time job - unless that person is world-renowned already as a model - so no employer would really hire & sponsor someone for a short-term filming session.)

I knew someone (non-Japanese) who held another job in Japan (so they were on an employer-sponsored work permitting visa/resident status) but when they wanted to do some other spot jobs outside the scope of their work visa, they had to obtain a separate permit for that.
by AK rate this post as useful

Re: Foreigner Magazine Model? 2024/5/4 18:22
I've seen people as young as me win those model auditions but I've never seen a foreigner