Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Dining for One 2013/7/20 13:46
Hi

Im finally going to be visiting Japan in September. Primarily i will be staying in Osaka for 13 days, with trips out with to Kobe, Kyoto, Nara, Uji etc etc.

My question is, since im going to be travelling on my own, do restaurants/Izakaya have any policy for single diners? I know basic Japanese, but are there any hints or tips i should know? Especially if i want to try some things that are normally enjoyed in groups (like shabu-shabu)

Im not expecting any English language menus everywhere or anything like that. Just some basic advice!

Cheers for your help!

John
by neebong  

Re: Dining for One 2013/7/21 18:58
I've been dining out regularly as a female local for more than 30 years and the only time I was discouraged from going in, because of the fact that I was alone, was when the restaurant had a policy of serving food in huge portions.

The host said, "Our portions are fit for 2 people or more, are you sure it's okay?" (in Japanese) as if it was not. I could've said it was okay, but I admit I wasn't that hungry.

Otherwise, nowadays, doing something alone is sort of like a fad (we call it "hitori (something)") so no one will be surprized at someone trying to do anything alone, even yakiniku.
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: Dining for One 2013/7/21 22:02
When it comes to izakaya, generally anyplace with a counter will be fairly comfortable for a single diner. Counter-based cuisines like tempura and sushi are also fine, and informal cuisines like tonkatsu, curry, ramen, etc.

Restaurants in department stores are also generally set up with single diners in mind, and of course restaurants in hotels.