Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What would you give? 2013/10/3 09:22
A Japanese visiting scholar has come to our university in California to study for approximately one year. (I am a grad student working in the lab that he will also work.)

He and his wife are a young couple with two small children. Is it appropriate to give them a "welcome" gift even if I am not going to visit their home? If so, what is a suitable gift for up to $40 US? Thank you for recommending a gift!
by Eliot (guest)  

Since no one seems to be responding 2013/10/4 14:47
Eliot,

Is that commonly done in your lab or your hometown? If so, why not? And being it common will be a good reason for you to do so, and you can tell that to the recipient so that (s)he will know what it's all about.

If it's not common, why do you want to do it? That's the whole point.
by Uco (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: What would you give? 2013/10/5 12:54
You ask a very good question, and your reasoning is insightful.

This visiting scholar is the first one in our lab in at least 8 years, so I cannot say it is common to give a gift because visiting scholars are uncommon. However, I recognize that moving with children to another continent is a challenge, and they probably left behind many items that were too bulky to carry.

The transition must be difficult, so I hoped to ease their discomfort with either some food or some items to help the children cope with the stress of relocating. The little boy is 4 years old, and the little girl is two years old.

Since I have no children and do not understand Japanese culture, I am clueless about what to give the children or the parents. This is perhaps an area in which you might know some very important cultural insights. Thank you!
by Eliot (guest) rate this post as useful