Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Becoming fluent in Japanese in Tokyo 2014/11/8 01:40
I plan on studying abroad in Fall 2015 just for the semester. I really want to go to Tokyo because there is a lot to do there, but at the same time I'm worried I won't become fluent.

I've been studying Japanese for over 7 years now, and I've been told I'm fluent because I've dreamed in Japanese. There is a program I'm looking at in Tokyo, in which I would take 12 hours of Japanese courses (in Japanese) and then 2 more classes in English. However, I've been to Tokyo before, and there were numerous times when Japanese people would try to speak to me in English, even when I replied in Japanese.

I really want to become fluent (and when there I would try to only speak Japanese), and I really want to go to Tokyo, but I'm afraid if I do go to Tokyo that I won't become fluent. Does anyone have any experience with this?
by Rachel (guest)  

Re: Becoming fluent in Japanese in Tokyo 2014/11/8 16:48
Not much information to go on...Where are you studying? A uni? A language school? What's your Japanese level(in terms of JLPT) right now? Having a dream in Japanese has nothing to do with fluency.

That same thing has happened to me too. Sometimes even broken English replied to grammatically correct Japanese. Annoying, but I guess nothing can really be done. Just continue to speak in Japanese until they get the message(as long as your Japanese isn't broken).

Fear of failure? Normally everybody has or will experience that at some point,
by CherryLemonLime rate this post as useful

Re: Becoming fluent in Japanese in Tokyo 2014/11/8 17:30