Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Social faux pas at enkai 2014/12/5 22:47
So I had my first bon enkai (end of year) party today - I work as an ALT at a high school. I familiarised myself with as many etiquette rules as possible in preparation for the enkai but obviously didn't prepare myself well enough. On the way to the enkai I got a bit lost. When I found it I met several flustered teachers who had gone searching for me in the rain. I had arrived on the dot but this was obviously very late, and it was extremely awkward walking into the huge, formal Japanese style hall and feeling everyone's eyes on me. Later that night a drunk teacher told me how everyone was concerned about me (they had been calling my phone which happened to be on silent) which made me feel terrible. I know that punctuality is very important in Japan and it's crucial to be early (I always arrive early to work), but I didn't realise turning up on the dot to something outside of work hours would cause such a drama. As the enkai began I panicked due to the drink situation. I wanted to pour for people but everyone was drinking something different - wine, sake, non alcoholic beer, etc etc. It took me a while to figure out how to access the drinks table, by which time two of my senpais had already approached me to pour for me. These senpais are easygoing and relaxed but will they have a bad impression of me because I didn't approach them first? And finally towards the end of the night, someone I poured for told me to do it with two hands (unknowingly, I had been pouring with just one). This made me think "oh dear, I've been offending people all night with my pouring technique!". Then at the end of the formal enkai (around 10pm) the vice principal and a small group were going on to a 2nd party, and they assumed that I would go with th