Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Is it socially acceptable...? 2014/12/7 15:14
Hi! My name is Zac, and I moved to Japan 4 days ago for college. In America I worked with kids, and here I'm studying education to be a kindergarten teacher. The last few mornings, I've been going for walks in the park, and they've been kids, they all come up and say ohayō or they smile. So I was wondering if it'd be socially acceptable to pass out gar-gari kun popsicles or something. I know in America that would never fly, but I seem to be doing pretty well in the community. I've left a lot of stereotypical american thats at the door, so I'm not worried about those. I just want to do something nice so the people of the community see me as more approachable, not the media-gaijin. Do you think that'd be okay to do?
by Zachary (guest)  

Re: Is it socially acceptable...? 2014/12/7 18:56
please don't do this.
by .. (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is it socially acceptable...? 2014/12/7 19:09
Gari-Gari-kun in winter? It's too cold......

You better not to give any food to kids, they normally don't accept. If you do, you can be a stranger and reported to the police. Send them back a big smile with Ohayo and konichiwa.
by tokyo friend 48 rate this post as useful

Re: Is it socially acceptable...? 2014/12/7 23:23
Giving out food like that would pretty much be the same as giving out food here in America, a big no no.

Just be polite and nice to the people in your community, that helps break enough barriers.
by xbutterxcupx (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: Is it socially acceptable...? 2014/12/8 00:16
I agree with what everyone else said - stop acting like you're in a zoo or something. Children get candy from their parents, not from some stranger in the park.
by Umami Dearest rate this post as useful