Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Japan Permanent Resident-Living out of Japan 2015/1/12 10:23
Dear Experts,

I am a Japan Permanent Resident, I have been asked by my company to work in the US branch, I am not sure how long would that be (could be around 4-5 yrs as well)
I would like to know any impact due to my non presence in Japan, Specifically below points

1) I understand PR is not revoked/expired unless the re-entry permit or Zairyu care expires. Would there any issue even if I make sure these are not expired
2) Would I have to file taxes in Japan even while I file in the US?
3) I would have to submit my insurance card back to company, Do I need to enroll to any other national insurance in Japan (I would have US insurance)
4) I understand US & Japan has treaty for pension, Do I need to any precaution for nenkin? Like inform my blue book number to any authorities
5) Should I inform the ward office of my departure? Any precautions to be taken? Do I need to maintain any other address in Japan?
6) Do I need to inform immigration about this?

Any other points that you experts think should be taken care would be much appreciated.
by PR (guest)  

Re: Japan Permanent Resident-Living out of Japan 2015/1/12 14:14
1) Get a re-entry permit (will be 5 years for you)
2) reenter Japan to renew zairyu card and re-entry permit if/when required
3) Do the moving out procedure at ward office to delete your juminhyo and tell them that you will be living abroad.
4) You must settle your resident taxes for rest of that year. e.g. if you leave on Jan 1, you might have pay for the whole year.