Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Being called (name)-chan? 2016/3/26 16:08
I did a few searches, but didn't find a satisfactory answer(s), so I want to get a few more opinions and thoughts about this. I know that friends, specifically girls will call close friends using their name and add "chan" to the end. Then children also get their names shortened with "chan" added to the end too.

For guys, I don't hear them using "chan" very often; so my impression is that they don't use it with their friends much. I also speak from my observations because I studied abroad in Japan for half a year awhile ago. One of my friends shortened my name and added "chan" to it; so after she did that, the 2 other guys in our circle of friends started calling me the same nickname. But I didn't mind because I felt we were close friends.

Recently though, I met a Japanese guy a few months ago and I don't know him that well yet. I am also NOT interested in him romantically at all; and we've hung out a couple of times, as a group, to go out to eat or check out events, etc. He's never actually called my name in person; but sometimes when he sends me a text, I noticed he started using my name with "chan"

Personally, I wouldn't consider us close enough friends for him to start using "chan" with me; and I don't necessarily dislike him for using it; but I am just wondering if he's using it because he thinks we're close friends now? Or perhaps he has become romantically interested in me?