Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

What is the easiest way to ask to photograph? 2016/6/8 19:43
Hello,

I am going to Japan soon and I am a street photographer and I am going to start a video travel journal and need b-roll footage. I know people in Japan are not cool with random people taking photos of them, so when asking for a photo or video, what is the easiest way to ask? Particularly along the line of "May I please photograph/videotape you?" For the video part, how can I explain it is for a travel journal and not a monetary or "weird" reason? I do understand that I may get a high rejection ratio so I'm cool with that.

Thanks!
by Nicholas (guest)  

Re: What is the easiest way to ask to photograph? 2016/6/9 18:22
When I travel the world, I just hold up my camera and ask the universal language "OK?"

And the point is whether it's for commercial use or personal use. In your case it's personal, so if people seem concerned just say "kojin de tsukaimasu (I will use it for personal use)." or you can say "SNS niwa tsukaimasen (I won't upload it for social networking)"

There's another thread you can use for reference.
http://www.japan-guide.com/forum/quereadisplay.html?0+138759
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: What is the easiest way to ask to photograph? 2016/6/9 19:20
Last time in japan I had my children with me. They are all blonde with blue eyes. The youngest was 11 months old.

Many wanted to take a photo of him. They just said "Photo? Photo?" And point at their camera and at the baby.

Without speaking the language, we got there message. They got there photo.

I should have charged 500 yen a photo. It would have paid for the whole trip. haha
by hakata14 (guest) rate this post as useful

Re: What is the easiest way to ask to photograph? 2016/6/9 21:27
what is travel journal ?