Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Moving to Japan from Singapore 2016/11/19 00:21
I'm a 19 year old Singaporean female. Graduated from a polytechnic with a Diploma in Business. I'll be going to Tokyo to study Business for 4 years, so I'm just wondering what should I prepare to bring to Japan? And roughly how much are expenses over there?

Rent: 400k-800k
Food: 300k
Transport: 200k
Phone bills, utilities: 200k
Would this be accurate? I am damn stingy even in Singapore so... all the more in Japan since I'm a broke student.

I'm quite fat, UK 14-16 so I'm thinking of bringing more clothes over there, but since my country is tropical, our winter clothings here are quite limited, would Japan still stock my size?

Another thing is my feet are ridiculously huge, US 10 so i should be bringing as many pairs of shoes as I can fit as well.

Regarding phone bills, i need data plans... does anyone have any recommendations?

Thinking of getting a new laptop before I depart as well, or should I just get one in Tokyo?

And does anyone have any information on moving service/sending boxes of stuffs to japan? Cheap, if possible.

Any tips on insurance would be great as well.

Sorry for the many questions and thanks for reading!
by Minene (guest)  

Re: Moving to Japan from Singapore 2016/11/19 11:05
Regarding your finances, I think you need to be more specific.

Which city will you be located in? Rent in Tokyo is very different to rent in Okayama, I think.

When you say 400k, what do you mean? 400,000 yen? Per year? Will you be living in dorms?

For clothes you should probably be ok, but definitely bring plenty of underwear - that'll be harder. I would definitely bring a few pairs of shoes.