Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Residence in Japan with a unique scenario 2017/2/3 04:55
I am looking for some information and where to go to begin my Canada-Japan transition. I am intermediately skilled in Japanese(my only problem areas were conversationalism, however reading and writing were near flawless) and have been interested in Japanese culture and transitioning for nearly a decade.
I am 25 years old and am looking at a career choice of either Visual Merchandising or Chemical Engineering as a second choice. I am a graduate from private school with an extensive work history.
The downside; I have a multiple year sentence on my Canadian Criminal record for uttering counterfeit money, weapons and organized crime. As terrible as that sounds, and Im not minimizing it, I need to move on. With my head on straight, i believe that it is still possible.
So, before I get any older, I need some guidance.
In your opinion, would it be more beneficial to apply for a student visa and persie my education in Japan? Or would it be prudent to complete my education here and then transition? Will I be barred from Japan?
I have been to japan in my teen years and i found that i was not only compatible with the lifestyle and culture, but I belonged amongst their civilization.

Any help or opinion is appreciated and thank you so much for taking the time to read.
by SethSanders  

Re: Residence in Japan with a unique scenario 2017/2/3 10:21
I think you might be SOL.

If you have a criminal record in which you served one or more years in prison you are barred from receiving a visa or even entering Japan.

Since you've said that you served a multi-year sentence you will be denied entry to Japan.