Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Second bank account for savings? 2017/3/13 11:51
I have an account with UFJ and was wondering if it's worth getting a 2nd bank account somewhere else to put savings into and was wondering if this is worthwhile in Japan given that interest is so low?
by littleblueowl  

Re: Second bank account for savings? 2017/3/13 16:32
What triggered you to that idea? I'm a Japanese resident and I have accounts in several banks for different reasons on saving money. It really depends on your lifestyle etc. Basically, just because you put money into another bank, that doesn't mean you can save money.
by Uco rate this post as useful

Re: Second bank account for savings? 2017/3/13 17:05
The idea was that a savings account with very low interest might be better than a normal account for everyday use with zero interest. Or is it still not really any benefit?
by littleblueowl rate this post as useful

Re: Second bank account for savings? 2017/3/13 17:29
If you want non-negligible interest, you'll have to look into more sophisticated financial products than a "savings account".
by Firas rate this post as useful

Re: Second bank account for savings? 2017/3/13 20:44
Bank savings accounts are easy to handle with no risk, so I can understand that you're looking into that rather than other sophisticated things. And of course you can compare interests of all the banks out there, including internet banking banks, to put a bulk of your money in.