Home
Back

Dear visitor, if you know the answer to this question, please post it. Thank you!

Note that this thread has not been updated in a long time, and its content might not be up-to-date anymore.

Move to Japan 2017/4/1 15:09
I want to move to Japan, but unsure of the best way nor what all of my options might be. I am aware that teaching English is the go-to, especially for native English speakers, but I would prefer something more suited for my technical background.

The background: I completed a Bachelor's of Science with 3 majors (applied mathematics, neuroscience, and molecular biology) in the United States, have done NASA student internships, and have laboratory research experience in biosciences, computer science / information visualization, and in aerospace engineering.

During my undergrad, I studied abroad in Sendai, Japan at Tohoku University for one semester, and have since traveled to Japan multiple times for vacation. I'm aware of many of the positives and negatives for foreigners living in Japan, but I know from my own experiences that I am a much happier human being there.

Right now I'm finishing my first year of a Computer Science PhD program. In all honesty, I'm miserable in the program, and I am just very unhappy living in the United States in general. I'm unsure that I can hold out and finish the master's, as I just want to leave right now.

Does anyone have any insight into viable options for someone like me moving to Japan and working in the IT field? Or is teaching English a necessary first step for obtaining a work visa?

I should also add that I am not fluent in Japanese.

Thanks for reading!
by mliuzzolino  

Re: Move to Japan 2017/4/1 20:44